Seitua Wins ULSA Presidency

Seitua Wins ULSA Presidency

The Election Commission of the University of Liberia Staff Association (ECULSA) has announced results from the University of Liberia Staff Association (ULSA) General Elections declaring presidential candidate Lawrence Seitua as president – elect of the association.

Mr. Seitua won ahead of two other candidates who contested to become president of ULSA. They include Mettie G. Kollie of the Department of Enrollment Services and Adolphus Gbowee of the School of Graduate Studies.
Voting took place on Monday, October 11, 2021, on the four campuses of the university­-–Capitol Hill, Fendall, Medical College, and Straz Sinje College.

The elections were conducted in line with ULSA’s Constitution which requires that an election is held once every two years to elect a new corps of officers to manage the affairs of the association.
Out of 359 ballots cast constituting 58.46 percent at the five polling places, Mr. Seitua obtained a cumulative vote of 137, constituting 38.16 of the total valid votes cast. He won his close rival, Mettie G. Kollie with a difference of two votes.

Madam Kollie, the only female candidate who contested the presidency, obtained a total vote of 135 of the overall votes, constituting 37.60 percent of total valid votes counted.
Adolphus Gbowee, another presidential candidate, obtained a total vote of 83, constituting 23.11 percent of the total valid vote cast. Mr. Gbowee obtained most of his votes from the Capitol Hill campus polling place.
The ULSA president – elect, Mr. Seitua is a supervisor at the UL Enrollment Services. He served as vice president of ULSA during the Zizi Jubah Administration and is a strong critic of the outgoing president of ULSA, James Siatto who he accused of betraying the interest of ULSA members.

Announcing the results, ULSA Elections Commission Chairman, Mr. Alex Millier Ahnani acknowledged the commitment of all of the candidates and stakeholders that ensured the successful conduct of the elections.
“Though delayed, largely due to the surge in corona virus cases in Liberia, the commission and all the candidates were committed to ensuring that the election was held on October 11, 2021. We salute you all for this show of love to [the] institution,” Mr. Ahnani stated.

Dee Preston, Martin Weah and Bai Jcee Walker contested unopposed and were elected on “white ballot” as Vive President, Assistant Secretary General and Chaplain respectively. Other officials elected are Mrs. Yamenah K. Jalloh, Secretary General; Mrs Josephine Ross, Financial Secretary and Mrs. Helena Jackson, Treasurer.

Leave a Comment